The teams will square off in a best-of-five series in the qualifying round.

The 12th-seeded Blackhawks and fifth-seeded Oilers will start their qualifying round series in Edmonton on Aug. 1, the NHL announced in revealing its 24-team return-to-play schedule Friday evening.

Here are the dates for their best-of-five series that serves as a de facto play-in to the usual 16-team playoff format.

Listen Live Now on 670 The Score
Game 1: Aug. 1
Game 2: Aug. 3
Game 3: Aug. 5
Game 4: Aug. 7*
Game 5: Aug. 8*

*If necessary

Training camps open this Monday. Teams are then set to travel to the hub cities on July 26 before exhibition games from July 28-30.