BEFORE the runner scored, stopping the defense from making any play at all..no way can the run count!!
Bat and the batter were both in the batters box, not extended when the ball made contact, a throw back to the pitcher is a live ball whether it hits the batter or not, it's in the rule book.
Run counts!
MLB will decide on the protest, but that is the right call!! IF the catcher threw the ball over the pitchers head would it still be a live ball? YES! There was no time out called until after the ball went into play and the runner crossed the plate.
:0002
Home plate ump obviously thought is was a dead ball.........
We use essential cookies to make this site work, and optional cookies to enhance your experience.