Calvin Johnson and the Lions were ROBBED

King69

Registered
Forum Member
Feb 17, 2010
1,964
0
0
How was that not a TD. Catch and his ass hits the ground and it comes loose after his hand hits the ground. Ground cannot cause a fumble. Wow. That is sickening.
 

IE

Administrator
Forum Admin
Forum Member
Mar 15, 1999
95,440
223
63
Following the game, referee Gene Steratore explained the call of incomplete.

"The ruling is that in order for the catch to be completed he has got to maintain possession of the ball throughout the entire process of the catch," Steratore explained. "He's catching the football, as he goes to the ground, he must maintain possession of the ball throughout the entire process. So, as he continues to fall, if he fell with two feet and his elbow hit the ground and came out it would be incomplete.

"The process was not finished until he finished that roll and the entire process of that catch."
 

King69

Registered
Forum Member
Feb 17, 2010
1,964
0
0
Following the game, referee Gene Steratore explained the call of incomplete.

"The ruling is that in order for the catch to be completed he has got to maintain possession of the ball throughout the entire process of the catch," Steratore explained. "He's catching the football, as he goes to the ground, he must maintain possession of the ball throughout the entire process. So, as he continues to fall, if he fell with two feet and his elbow hit the ground and came out it would be incomplete.

"The process was not finished until he finished that roll and the entire process of that catch."

That is bullshit. His ass was on the ground.
 

Corley1011

Hail State!
Forum Member
Dec 13, 2006
11,740
58
48
39
Madison, MS
He had full possession of the ball across the goal line and on the ground... that was terrible call... I don't care what anyone says... that was a catch and the Lions got royally screwed...
 

yyz

Under .500
Forum Member
Mar 16, 2000
43,043
2,148
113
On the course!
I had Chicago in the survivor pool, so the call was made for me.

Oh, and were you reviewing this play for 4 hours before finally posting?
 

gjn23

Registered User
Forum Member
Mar 20, 2002
9,319
45
48
54
So. Cal

King69

Registered
Forum Member
Feb 17, 2010
1,964
0
0
I had Chicago in the survivor pool, so the call was made for me.

Oh, and were you reviewing this play for 4 hours before finally posting?

No TOOL. I just saw the replay at 7:50pm.:facepalm:
 

King69

Registered
Forum Member
Feb 17, 2010
1,964
0
0
Please don't ever watch the History Channel.

TIA

I won't watch History Channel if you promise to a have a vasectomy. No child deserves to be burdened with your genes.:toast:
 

Randercity

Wait til HT
Forum Member
Not everyone agrees...

Not everyone agrees...

if you think it was a catch and believe the lions (and you) got screwed....you dont know the rules

it was an incomplete pass
ruled that way on the field
ruled that way after replay
approved by everyone involved afterwards (from players to coaches to refs to supervisors of refs)

http://espn.go.com/blog/nfcnorth/post/_/id/16142/like-it-or-not-megatron-call-was-right

http://espn.go.com/blog/chicago/bears/post/_/id/4666023/refs-get-it-right-on-crucial-call

The referee closest to the ball signaled Touchdown, I have it on video. He signaled TD AFTER the ball came loose, not before. Not sure when or how he was over-ruled. Had it been signaled TD on the field, I don't think the booth would have over-turned it. It was shown on NBC Pre-game last night. To say the coach agreed is a joke, I know what he said, he said what he was TOLD to say PERIOD. If he says anything else, he and the team gets fined. :nono:

DUNGY pointed out the call in the SUPER BOWL, where the ball came loose, but I believe that was different because the opposing player caused that. But it is plain stupid to have a game winning TD nullified by such a dumb rule. If a player catches a pass in the field of play, has possesion and comes down with two feet, it's a catch, but if a player does it in the end zone at the end of the game, it's not a catch or a TD because he doesn't come to his feet and hand the ball to the ref?? :eek:

Process this NFL :thefinger
 

gjn23

Registered User
Forum Member
Mar 20, 2002
9,319
45
48
54
So. Cal
The referee closest to the ball signaled Touchdown, I have it on video. He signaled TD AFTER the ball came loose, not before. Not sure when or how he was over-ruled. Had it been signaled TD on the field, I don't think the booth would have over-turned it. It was shown on NBC Pre-game last night. To say the coach agreed is a joke, I know what he said, he said what he was TOLD to say PERIOD. If he says anything else, he and the team gets fined. :nono:

DUNGY pointed out the call in the SUPER BOWL, where the ball came loose, but I believe that was different because the opposing player caused that. But it is plain stupid to have a game winning TD nullified by such a dumb rule. If a player catches a pass in the field of play, has possesion and comes down with two feet, it's a catch, but if a player does it in the end zone at the end of the game, it's not a catch or a TD because he doesn't come to his feet and hand the ball to the ref?? :eek:

Process this NFL :thefinger

see you've still got the rule wrong

ANYTIME a reveiver goes to the ground he must maintain possession throughout the "act" of catching the ball (not just the endzone)

argue away that it's a dumb rule.......but the lions didnt get hosed, they didnt get screwed, the refs didnt make a terrible call, the replay review by the ref wanst terrible........as per the rule, he didnt maintain possession throughout his hitting of the ground and subesequent roll.....end of story.

as for the ref that was right there....he did signal td....the backjudge came in and ruled inc as the ball popped out of johnsons hand on the roll....so the ruling on the field was inc, the replay confirmed......if the ruling on the field was td, it would have been over-turned as the replay was clear he didnt maintain possessions.

these types of calls happen ALL the time...usually just not on the game winning catch.....time to move on.
 

gardenweasel

el guapo
Forum Member
Jan 10, 2002
40,575
226
63
"the bunker"
how the hell were the lions even in the game given the one sided offensive stats?.....

how bad is chicago to have to get their bacon pulled out of the fire by a bad rule?...

if i were a chicago fan,i`d be discouraged as hell..
 

lowell

Registered User
Forum Member
Jul 6, 2003
9,177
89
48
perhaps if he would go and hand the ball to the ref he would not drop it to start his dance routine.
 
Bet on MyBookie
Top