- Feb 17, 2010
- 1,964
- 0
- 0
see you've still got the rule wrong
ANYTIME a reveiver goes to the ground he must maintain possession throughout the "act" of catching the ball (not just the endzone)
argue away that it's a dumb rule.......but the lions didnt get hosed, they didnt get screwed, the refs didnt make a terrible call, the replay review by the ref wanst terrible........as per the rule, he didnt maintain possession throughout his hitting of the ground and subesequent roll.....end of story.
as for the ref that was right there....he did signal td....the backjudge came in and ruled inc as the ball popped out of johnsons hand on the roll....so the ruling on the field was inc, the replay confirmed......if the ruling on the field was td, it would have been over-turned as the replay was clear he didnt maintain possessions.
these types of calls happen ALL the time...usually just not on the game winning catch.....time to move on.
I have now seen in 25x. He caught. He landed on his ass. Ass down ball in his control. TD. Period. The rule is bullshit and the call in no way shape or form should have ever been overturned. He didnt land on ass and the ball came loose. Done with this topic.