I think Dallas got screwed on that spot

KotysDad

Registered User
Forum Member
Feb 6, 2001
1,206
7
38
I can understand the use of replay to determine the spot of the ball when the sideline comes into play as to where a player may or may not have stepped out of bounds.....but its a joke to watch them try to determine the spot of the ball in the middle of an open field. That rule needs to be limited to sideline plays.
 

The Sponge

Registered User
Forum Member
Aug 24, 2006
17,263
97
0
I think he did not get to the first down marker...BUT the official made the call that he did. The views shown on tv were no way conclusive on where the ball was on his forward progress so you have to go with the call on the field. oh well. (had dallas at +3 so for me it did not really matter.)

thought the same thing but its the right call. the guy who should be hung was the nitwit who spotted it. When it happen i said to my brother " look at this spot"
 

The Sponge

Registered User
Forum Member
Aug 24, 2006
17,263
97
0
go back to the SEA safety... the ball fumble into the endzone, the offensive player touch the ball while outbound then it a safety... if the defensive player touch the ball while out of bound wouldn't it be a touchback??? Either ways, I think this is a make for SEA SB lost last year by the REF.

kenman i thought the same thing i thought it should have been a touch back. why wasn't it? i still cant understand why it was a safety.
On another note lets say the guy that touched it and they said was out of bounds was actually in bounds would he have been called for an illegal forward pass when he flicked it forward?
 

grandemush

Registered User
Forum Member
Nov 12, 2006
90
0
0
Dela-where?
**** the Cowgirls....the original spot was WRONG & correctly overturned; Witten didn't get within a 1/2 yard of the first down marker.
Then, your Pro Bowl qb ends the season like that with that FG attempt?
:mj07: :mj07: :mj07: :mj07: :mj07: :mj07: :mj07:
 

Bombs

Registered User
Forum Member
Jan 29, 2003
3,344
439
83
48
Earth
go back to the SEA safety... the ball fumble into the endzone, the offensive player touch the ball while outbound then it a safety... if the defensive player touch the ball while out of bound wouldn't it be a touchback??? Either ways, I think this is a make for SEA SB lost last year by the REF.

Absolutely not.

If the defensive player recovers the ball in the endzone, its a touchdown.

If the offense either fumbles it out of the endzone or gets tackled in the endzone, its a safety. If no one controls the ball and they just bat it around and it goes out of the endzone its a safety.

The only way you get a touchback is if the defense recovers the ball outside the endzone, then runs in the endzone, and gets tackled.

Basic stuff, really.
 

Bombs

Registered User
Forum Member
Jan 29, 2003
3,344
439
83
48
Earth
kenman i thought the same thing i thought it should have been a touch back. why wasn't it? i still cant understand why it was a safety.
On another note lets say the guy that touched it and they said was out of bounds was actually in bounds would he have been called for an illegal forward pass when he flicked it forward?

its not an illegal forward pass if he just bats it. it has to be possession to be a forward pass. if he had possession, then he had a touchdown.

i'm not sure why these rules are so confusing.
 

Mjolnir

Registered User
Forum Member
May 15, 2003
3,747
11
0
S. CAL.
brutal loss. so many things that were done wrong. how do you not exploit a decimated secondary when you have 2 of the best receivers in the game? cowboys have no one else to blame. if they would have taken care of business in the final games of the season they wouldn't have been in this spot.freakin painful!!!!
now there compairing this to jackie smith dropping the td in superbowl, and leon lett's mistakes. ouch....
 

Jman90

SDSU-SoDak
Forum Member
Sep 12, 2006
84
0
0
SoDak
Bombs, you're right that is football 101 in describing the fumble by Glen that ended in a safety for the Hawks.

That challenge on the spot near the goal line was right on. The ball didn't get inside the 1yd line like they originaly thought. The replay clearly showed that.
 

Jman90

SDSU-SoDak
Forum Member
Sep 12, 2006
84
0
0
SoDak
brutal loss. so many things that were done wrong. how do you not exploit a decimated secondary when you have 2 of the best receivers in the game? cowboys have no one else to blame. if they would have taken care of business in the final games of the season they wouldn't have been in this spot.freakin painful!!!!
now there compairing this to jackie smith dropping the td in superbowl, and leon lett's mistakes. ouch....


My math shows:

2 good recievers x 1 mediocre QB = a playoff loss
 

pt1gard

Registered
Forum Member
Apr 7, 2002
7,377
3
0
seattle
obviously close but i thought even w/o a replay on naked eye the first time I saw it he didnt make the 1yl, and replay showed IMHO he didnt ... i am not a hawk fan even tho i live here, and honestly thought this was one of best calls ever by replay b/c Boys came up a foot short at least ... no one talks about the INT Boys got bc there was no good angle on sidelines when it appeared the defender's right foot was out ... Boys got kickoff return and TD on last play of first half ... this was weird game with so many twists ... had Romo not bobbled snap 2 or 3 times he woulda walked in ... talking about game of breaks both ways ... both teams were staggering into this game and it ended same way


gl, gregg
 
Bet on MyBookie
Top