Officials should never work again

3 Seconds

Fcuk Frist
Forum Member
Jan 14, 2004
6,706
16
0
Marlton, NJ
Because the officials blew the call. Here's the rule from the NCAA rule book:

Beyond the Neutral Zone
ARTICLE 2. a. No inbounds player of the kicking team shall touch a
scrimmage kick that has crossed the neutral zone before it touches an
opponent. Such illegal touching is a violation that, when the ball becomes
dead, gives the receiving team the privilege of taking the ball at the spot of
the violation

No they didnt. Read on about penalties by the receiving team that are accepted. The illegal touch just is removed as if it never happened & the penalty is enforced from the prior spot.

I know I am right on this one.
 

ctownguy

Life is Good
Forum Member
Jul 27, 2000
3,065
16
0
SoCal
It says WHEN THE ball becomes dead, it's not dead immediatley when the ball glanced off the Fla St players back.
 

bryanz

Registered User
Forum Member
Aug 8, 2001
9,724
35
48
64
Syracuse ny, usa
I am afraid it is you who does not know the rule.

Illegal touching is not really a penalty. There is no yardage given for it. All it does is ensure the recieving cant lose possession of the ball since the kicking team touched it first.

They dont blow the play dead, because the receiving team has the option to try & advance the ball, but even if they fumble they get it back at the spot of the original touching, 'illegal touch' by the kicking team.

Its just wording to say the ball was downed.

Its not really 'illegal', cause it is not a penalty.

Any legit or real penalty during play during the play by either team is enforced.

it is a penalty because if fla st didn't touch the ball, they would of been awarded the ball...... the touch by fla st, if it was toched, was an inadvertent touch, they were not trying to down it.
 

Morris

Tent Maker
Forum Member
Aug 23, 2002
32,058
210
63
Above the Clouds....
it is a penalty because if fla st didn't touch the ball, they would of been awarded the ball...... the touch by fla st, if it was toched, was an inadvertent touch, they were not trying to down it.

There was no penalty on the touching ..the penalty was the block in the back?
 

wersty

Registered User
Forum Member
Jun 21, 2001
696
4
18
74
Jupiter, Florida
ARTICLE 2. a. No inbounds player of the kicking team shall touch a
scrimmage kick that has crossed the neutral zone before it touches an
opponent. Such illegal touching is a violation that, when the ball becomes
dead, gives the receiving team the privilege of taking the ball at the spot of
the violation (Exception: Rule 6-3-4) (A.R. 2-11-1-I and A.R. 6-3-2-I).
b. If a penalty incurred by either team before the ball becomes dead
is enforced or there are offsetting fouls, the privilege is canceled
(Exceptions: Rules 6-3-11 and 8-4-2-b) (A.R. 6-3-2-I-VI, A.R. 6-3-11-I
and A.R. 10-1-4-VIII).
c. Illegal touching in Team A?s end zone is ignored.
 

3 Seconds

Fcuk Frist
Forum Member
Jan 14, 2004
6,706
16
0
Marlton, NJ
it is a penalty because if fla st didn't touch the ball, they would of been awarded the ball...... the touch by fla st, if it was toched, was an inadvertent touch, they were not trying to down it.


It is NOT A PENALTY. It is nothing but a place holder that guarantees the receiving team gets the ball at that spot, no matter happens unless 1 or 2 things happens:

1. They advance past that spot.

2. They committ a penalty.

There is no such thing as refs determining between intentional & unintentional touches. It was either touched or it wasnt.
 

3 Seconds

Fcuk Frist
Forum Member
Jan 14, 2004
6,706
16
0
Marlton, NJ
Here is it is in regular teams explained by an NFL ref.

The NFL & NCAA have identical rules for this situation:


During the week one game with the Packers and Vikings there was in interesting play during a punt. A member of the kicking team made contact with the ball in an attempt to down it. A member of the receiving team then made contact with the ball as he tried to gain possession of it. The ball was then covered by the kicking team. Since I was watching this with both Packer and Viking fans, a large discussion broke out on which team would get possession of the ball. I know the correct call in high school rules and attempted to explain my position and was promptly ignored as a "Bears fan". What is the NFL rule regarding first touching? -- Steve Schaub, Marion Iowa

No player on the kicking team may touch a punt beyond the line of scrimmage before it has been touched by a member of the receiving team. This action is called illegal touching. This is not a foul that carries a yardage penalty, but it insures the receiving team possession of the ball at the conclusion of the down. Even if the receiving team fumbles, trying to return the kick, they will be awarded the ball at the spot of illegal touching.

There is an exception to the illegal touching rule. If the receivers foul during the play and the penalty is accepted, the spot of illegal touching disappears, as if it never happened.
 

Morris

Tent Maker
Forum Member
Aug 23, 2002
32,058
210
63
Above the Clouds....
ARTICLE 2. a. No inbounds player of the kicking team shall touch a
scrimmage kick that has crossed the neutral zone before it touches an
opponent. Such illegal touching is a violation that, when the ball becomes
dead, gives the receiving team the privilege of taking the ball at the spot of
the violation (Exception: Rule 6-3-4) (A.R. 2-11-1-I and A.R. 6-3-2-I).
b. If a penalty incurred by either team before the ball becomes dead
is enforced or there are offsetting fouls, the privilege is canceled
(Exceptions: Rules 6-3-11 and 8-4-2-b) (A.R. 6-3-2-I-VI, A.R. 6-3-11-I
and A.R. 10-1-4-VIII).
c. Illegal touching in Team A?s end zone is ignored.

Make it simple.. as soon as he touches it ..it is a dead ball. Unless the recieving team tries to pick it up and go with it!
 

3 Seconds

Fcuk Frist
Forum Member
Jan 14, 2004
6,706
16
0
Marlton, NJ
More translations:

Illegal Touching

If you watch any football, you've seen players commit the foul of illegal touching many times each game. The officials do not throw any flags, though they do signify that foul by touching both hands to the tops of their shoulders. You don't think of it as illegal touching, because we call it "downing" a punt.

However, illegal touching has one fantastic effect. Once a player on the punting team touches a punted ball that has not made contact with a return team player, no matter what happens afterwards, the return team can always elect to have the ball at the spot of illegal touching. If the punting team touches and controls the ball, the official takes an "official timeout", and awards the return team the ball at the spot of the touching.

It's the other circumstance that every special teams player in the league should know by heart. If the punting team touches the ball and does not control it, there is absolutely no reason why the nearest player should not attempt to pick up the ball and run with it. Throw laterals willy-nilly down the field. Make every attempt to score. This should be done any time the punt is shanked and hits a punt team player in the back, or any time a player non-chalantly touches a ball and walks away from it. After the result of the play, the return team can elect to either take the ball at the spot of illegal touching, or decline the foul and take the result of the return.

It is important to note, however, that illegal touching does not offset ANY other foul. If a team throws a forwards lateral, flagrantly grabs a face mask, and/or spikes the ball in celebration, those fouls will be assessed.
 

ctownguy

Life is Good
Forum Member
Jul 27, 2000
3,065
16
0
SoCal
It wasnt an illegal touching. Have no idea why that was said.


Going back to what you first said above was wrong per your example above, BUT I was wrong about the enforcement of the penalty, but did have the deadball not dead ball right and the illegal touching right.

Have to admit didn't realize the penalty phase wipes out that portion of the rule.

The officials were wrong at first but did make the correct call after all.

I stand corrected thinking it was still WF ball.
 

3 Seconds

Fcuk Frist
Forum Member
Jan 14, 2004
6,706
16
0
Marlton, NJ
Going back to what you first said above was wrong per your example above, BUT I was wrong about the enforcement of the penalty, but did have the deadball not dead ball right and the illegal touching right.

Have to admit didn't realize the penalty phase wipes out that portion of the rule.

The officials were wrong at first but did make the correct call after all.

I stand corrected thinking it was still WF ball.

Granted I misspoke by saying it wasnt illegal touch, I meant to relay that it wasnt a penalty. Like explained "illegal touch" happens all the time & is not announced, since it was announced by the ref, I assumed he was acting like it was an enforced penalty.
 

RIGHT SIDE

Registered User
Forum Member
Mar 19, 2004
8,310
16
0
49
Bay Area, California
Why haven't they done that all game??? 9/10 times Carr will dominate over that midget. WF better make some adjustments at half or they're in some trouble with that kid.

Bryanz...that was a nice broken play. Great call!
 

Destructor D

Destructor
Forum Member
Dec 6, 2005
8,632
133
63
Kansas City, MO
Florida State 1st half backers have to feel very happy right now... still 38 seconds left in half.

Dumb announcer just said, I think WF would kill the clock with the ball on their 40 with 38 seconds and all 3 timeouts... really??? He didn't say the 3 timeouts, but do these idiots have a clue?
 
Bet on MyBookie
Top