On the opening kickoff of yesterday's ALA/FLA game, the ball rolled into the end zone untouched.
I said WTF is he doing, he should cover that ball. The guy next to me said that if the ball isn't touched by the receiving team it's a touchback and comes out to the 20. I called BS.
So, he has his laptop with him
he's there every week with his LT. Anyway, he looks up the NCAA rule book and proves to me that he is correct. Okay, I say, but that's not the rule in the NFL and he says it is. I call BS again and this time he can't prove it. He can't find the rule. It seems to me I've seen teams score like that before.
Another thing; on that opening kickoff in the bama game, I said suppose the ball came to rest on the 1 yard line, and he says it's bama ball. BULLSHIT, that's a free and live ball and can be recovered by the kickoff team but not advanced. He couldn't find the rule for that either.
What's the rule?
TIA
I said WTF is he doing, he should cover that ball. The guy next to me said that if the ball isn't touched by the receiving team it's a touchback and comes out to the 20. I called BS.
So, he has his laptop with him
Another thing; on that opening kickoff in the bama game, I said suppose the ball came to rest on the 1 yard line, and he says it's bama ball. BULLSHIT, that's a free and live ball and can be recovered by the kickoff team but not advanced. He couldn't find the rule for that either.
What's the rule?
TIA