Officials should never work again

ctownguy

Life is Good
Forum Member
Jul 27, 2000
3,065
16
0
SoCal
Their call is unbelievable.

The ball goes to wake forest at the illegally touching by Fla St, then you walk off the 10 yd penalty to wake and it's wake's ball after the walk off.

That is unbelieveable that on National TV they can't get it right even from the review booth.


What a joke:scared
 

3 Seconds

Fcuk Frist
Forum Member
Jan 14, 2004
6,706
16
0
Marlton, NJ
Their call is unbelievable.

The ball goes to wake forest at the illegally touching by Fla St, then you walk off the 10 yd penalty to wake and it's wake's ball after the walk off.

That is unbelieveable that on National TV they can't get it right even from the review booth.


What a joke:scared

It wasnt an illegal touching. Have no idea why that was said.
 

PharoahUB

Registered User
Forum Member
Dec 6, 2005
608
2
0
Tennessee
what about that last play of fl state drive? that was easily afirst down with forward progress. the ball wasntbeing juggled. it got knocked out after he was already down. terrible officiating and coaching for not challenging.
 

ctownguy

Life is Good
Forum Member
Jul 27, 2000
3,065
16
0
SoCal
So what. Its downing a punt. Think how many punts where the D touches it first to down it.

It WAS NOT an illegal touch.


I'm sorry 3 seconds but you do not know the rule, yes the defense can down the punt but if you notice everytime it is done they pick up the ball or hold it until the ball is whistled dead.

If the ball is touched by a kicking team player with no possesion it is still a free ball for the receiving team and no matter what happens they can always choose to take the ball back at the illegal touch or first touching spot.
 

Morris

Tent Maker
Forum Member
Aug 23, 2002
32,058
210
63
Above the Clouds....
I'm sorry 3 seconds but you do not know the rule, yes the defense can down the punt but if you notice everytime it is done they pick up the ball or hold it until the ball is whistled dead.

If the ball is touched by a kicking team player with no possesion it is still a free ball for the receiving team and no matter what happens they can always choose to take the ball back at the illegal touch or first touching spot.

Have to disagree with you on this on. Once the kicking team touches the ball and no RECIEVING team member takes possession it is a dead ball.
 

ctownguy

Life is Good
Forum Member
Jul 27, 2000
3,065
16
0
SoCal
That was totally legal. It is a dead ball at that spot!


no it is not dead, why do you thing the officals throws a bean bag at the spot of the first touching, so if the receiving team goes ahead and gets possesion and then fumbles it again and it recovered by kicking team they will take the ball back at the first touch or it is reffered to as illegal touch for the sake of the rule.


GEEZE
 

Morris

Tent Maker
Forum Member
Aug 23, 2002
32,058
210
63
Above the Clouds....
no it is not dead, why do you thing the officals throws a bean bag at the spot of the first touching, so if the receiving team goes ahead and gets possesion and then fumbles it again and it recovered by kicking team they will take the ball back at the first touch or it is reffered to as illegal touch for the sake of the rule.


GEEZE

OK... I;m totally confused at this point.

Why didn't Wake get the ball at the spot minus the block in the back penalty?
 

3 Seconds

Fcuk Frist
Forum Member
Jan 14, 2004
6,706
16
0
Marlton, NJ
I'm sorry 3 seconds but you do not know the rule, yes the defense can down the punt but if you notice everytime it is done they pick up the ball or hold it until the ball is whistled dead.

If the ball is touched by a kicking team player with no possesion it is still a free ball for the receiving team and no matter what happens they can always choose to take the ball back at the illegal touch or first touching spot.

I am afraid it is you who does not know the rule.

Illegal touching is not really a penalty. There is no yardage given for it. All it does is ensure the recieving cant lose possession of the ball since the kicking team touched it first.

They dont blow the play dead, because the receiving team has the option to try & advance the ball, but even if they fumble they get it back at the spot of the original touching, 'illegal touch' by the kicking team.

Its just wording to say the ball was downed.

Its not really 'illegal', cause it is not a penalty.

Any legit or real penalty during play during the play by either team is enforced.

Now if the penalty is on the receiving team and is accepted, it is as if the illegal touch never happened & the foul is enforced from the previous line of scrimmage.

That is the RULE. The refs got it right.
 
Last edited:

ctownguy

Life is Good
Forum Member
Jul 27, 2000
3,065
16
0
SoCal
OK... I;m totally confused at this point.

Why didn't Wake get the ball at the spot minus the block in the back penalty?

Because the officials blew the call. Here's the rule from the NCAA rule book:

Beyond the Neutral Zone
ARTICLE 2. a. No inbounds player of the kicking team shall touch a
scrimmage kick that has crossed the neutral zone before it touches an
opponent. Such illegal touching is a violation that, when the ball becomes
dead, gives the receiving team the privilege of taking the ball at the spot of
the violation
 

Morris

Tent Maker
Forum Member
Aug 23, 2002
32,058
210
63
Above the Clouds....
Because the officials blew the call. Here's the rule from the NCAA rule book:

Beyond the Neutral Zone
ARTICLE 2. a. No inbounds player of the kicking team shall touch a
scrimmage kick that has crossed the neutral zone before it touches an
opponent. Such illegal touching is a violation that, when the ball becomes
dead, gives the receiving team the privilege of taking the ball at the spot of
the violation

Right the touching makes it a dead ball.That was the call. It hit a FSU player and the ball was dead at that point.
 

ctownguy

Life is Good
Forum Member
Jul 27, 2000
3,065
16
0
SoCal
I am afraid it is you who does not know the rule.

Illegal touching is not really a penalty. There is no yardage given for it. All it does is ensure the recieving cant lose possession of the ball since the kicking team touched it first.

They dont blow the play dead, because the receiving team has the option to try & advance the ball, but even if they fumble they get it back at the spot of the original touching, 'illegal touch' by the kicking team.

Its just wording to say the ball was downed.

Its not really 'illegal', cause it is not a penalty.

Any legit or real penalty during play during the play by either team is enforced.

I never said it was a penalty I said exactly what you finally said but not in the same exact way, you have to be kidding me.
 
Bet on MyBookie
Top