Woman hit by ball sues Little Leaguer

spartan

Registered User
Forum Member
Jan 7, 2001
5,098
37
0
Long Island
You gotta love these frigging a-holes in Joisy. I seriously can't stand some of the people that live in that shit box of a state. They need to be dealt with a bat upside the head :facepalm:
 

DZ

Urban Achiever
Forum Member
Oct 22, 2009
11,819
119
63
310/917
You gotta love these frigging a-holes in Joisy. I seriously can't stand some of the people that live in that shit box of a state. They need to be dealt with a bat upside the head :facepalm:

:mj07:
 

JOSHNAUDI

That Guy
Forum Member
Dec 12, 2000
10,298
392
83
49
Seguin, TX
www.schwartz-associates.com
You've been very opinionated lately :0003

He really has been an ugly mood kind of guy
Thought differently of him earlier in your site, not so much anymore :shrug:

Y'all shouldn't go around making judgment calls unless your an umpire. Fortunately I am and I can say that he has been a little dickish lately. He just offered to buy WINEguy a Beer.

What really sucks about this story is the kid was 11 and already delegated to bullpen duty. "Matty, go warm up Johnny, he's going to actually play today" What kind of fucking lawyer says yeah, let's go after the kid but gives a free pass to the complex for having a safe place for kids to warm up without fear of maiming a fan, or whatever severe injuries she incurred.

Hopefully the Sandusky jury is available to bring a little justice to this suit and lets the kid go unscathed.

I've got 3 games today in this 100 degree weather. I'll be thinking about y'all.
 

Sportsaholic

Jack's Mentor
Forum Member
Jan 18, 2000
32,345
314
0
62
Crustacean Nation
Y'all shouldn't go around making judgment calls unless your an umpire. Fortunately I am and I can say that he has been a little dickish lately. He just offered to buy WINEguy a Beer[/img]

I offered him a "beer or wine"......But I'm sure you saw that...........


4078877382_514f23f151_m.jpg



All kidding aside, hopefully this kid wasn't being a smartass and just launched the ball into the crowd and said "oppps"....After the bus video anythings possible......


Stay cool today Josh :0008
 
Last edited:

JOSHNAUDI

That Guy
Forum Member
Dec 12, 2000
10,298
392
83
49
Seguin, TX
www.schwartz-associates.com
It was a long fucking day but it worked out well

I have a play I'd like to hear an opinion or two on. My call was based on Major League Baseball Rules. -
http://www.mlb.com/NASApp/mlb/mlb/official_info/official_rules/foreword.jsp

Runner on 1st - One out. Batter goes yard. Batter hauls ass and catches the runner as they round 3rd. The BATTER DOES NOT PASS THE RUNNER.

The lead runner misses home plate.
The batter touches home plate.
The lead runner comes back and touches home plate.

I throw the baseball to the pitcher who immediately tries to dead ball appeal the play effectively eliminating his chance to legally appeal the play.

If he had made a proper appeal I would have called both the runner and batter safe because... A runner is assumed to have touched a missed base until appealed by the defensive team. So the lead runner is assumed to have touched home even though he missed it until the home team appeals the play. The home team can't appeal the play until the ball is in play because it was a home run. Because the runner that missed the base touched the plate before an appeal, By my interpretation, the runner would be safe on appeal.

After the game, a college umpire trainer who was at the game, asked me about it. I gave him my rundown and he disagreed with my interpretation. Somehow he thought I would have had two outs, Batter passing the runner and missed base.

Again - assuming a proper appeal I'm curious what everyone would have and/or how you interpret MLB rule Rule 7.10 Comment: If two runners arrive at home base about the same time and the first runner misses home plate but a second runner legally touches the plate, the runner is tagged out on his attempt to come back and touch the base or is called out, on appeal, then he shall be considered as having been put out before the second runner scored and being the third out. Second runner?s run shall not count, as provided in Rule 7.12
 

comfortable1

Useful
Forum Member
Nov 13, 2009
3,322
116
0
So returning the ball to the pitcher does not put the ball in play? What action was necessary to be considered 'in play'? This seems to be the core issue correct?
 

comfortable1

Useful
Forum Member
Nov 13, 2009
3,322
116
0
It was a long fucking day but it worked out well

I have a play I'd like to hear an opinion or two on. My call was based on Major League Baseball Rules. -
http://www.mlb.com/NASApp/mlb/mlb/official_info/official_rules/foreword.jsp

Runner on 1st - One out. Batter goes yard. Batter hauls ass and catches the runner as they round 3rd. The BATTER DOES NOT PASS THE RUNNER.

The lead runner misses home plate.
The batter touches home plate.
The lead runner comes back and touches home plate.

I throw the baseball to the pitcher who immediately tries to dead ball appeal the play effectively eliminating his chance to legally appeal the play.

If he had made a proper appeal I would have called both the runner and batter safe because... A runner is assumed to have touched a missed base until appealed by the defensive team. So the lead runner is assumed to have touched home even though he missed it until the home team appeals the play. The home team can't appeal the play until the ball is in play because it was a home run. Because the runner that missed the base touched the plate before an appeal, By my interpretation, the runner would be safe on appeal.

After the game, a college umpire trainer who was at the game, asked me about it. I gave him my rundown and he disagreed with my interpretation. Somehow he thought I would have had two outs, Batter passing the runner and missed base.

Again - assuming a proper appeal I'm curious what everyone would have and/or how you interpret MLB rule Rule 7.10 Comment: If two runners arrive at home base about the same time and the first runner misses home plate but a second runner legally touches the plate, the runner is tagged out on his attempt to come back and touch the base or is called out, on appeal, then he shall be considered as having been put out before the second runner scored and being the third out. Second runner?s run shall not count, as provided in Rule 7.12

This should be it's own thread IMO... interesting topic but will likely get missed at the tailend of yesterday's news.:0008
 

krc

Registered User
Forum Member
Jan 12, 2002
1,879
31
0
Texas
It was a long fucking day but it worked out well

I have a play I'd like to hear an opinion or two on. My call was based on Major League Baseball Rules. -
http://www.mlb.com/NASApp/mlb/mlb/official_info/official_rules/foreword.jsp

Runner on 1st - One out. Batter goes yard. Batter hauls ass and catches the runner as they round 3rd. The BATTER DOES NOT PASS THE RUNNER.

The lead runner misses home plate.
The batter touches home plate.
The lead runner comes back and touches home plate.

I throw the baseball to the pitcher who immediately tries to dead ball appeal the play effectively eliminating his chance to legally appeal the play.

If he had made a proper appeal I would have called both the runner and batter safe because... A runner is assumed to have touched a missed base until appealed by the defensive team. So the lead runner is assumed to have touched home even though he missed it until the home team appeals the play. The home team can't appeal the play until the ball is in play because it was a home run. Because the runner that missed the base touched the plate before an appeal, By my interpretation, the runner would be safe on appeal.

After the game, a college umpire trainer who was at the game, asked me about it. I gave him my rundown and he disagreed with my interpretation. Somehow he thought I would have had two outs, Batter passing the runner and missed base.

Again - assuming a proper appeal I'm curious what everyone would have and/or how you interpret MLB rule Rule 7.10 Comment: If two runners arrive at home base about the same time and the first runner misses home plate but a second runner legally touches the plate, the runner is tagged out on his attempt to come back and touch the base or is called out, on appeal, then he shall be considered as having been put out before the second runner scored and being the third out. Second runner?s run shall not count, as provided in Rule 7.12

:00x32

Oh dang, I am thinking it's a good thing I am not an umpire.

it's just a game played and umpired by humans

I am sure you did the right thing Josh :0008
 

JOSHNAUDI

That Guy
Forum Member
Dec 12, 2000
10,298
392
83
49
Seguin, TX
www.schwartz-associates.com
So returning the ball to the pitcher does not put the ball in play? What action was necessary to be considered 'in play'? This seems to be the core issue correct?

4 Things to put the ball in play

pitcher with the ball in contact with the rubber

plus

batter in the batter box

plus

All fielders in the field of play and the catcher in his/her catcher box

plus

Umpire verbally saying "play" or some derivative with a gesture pointing to the pitcher
 

JOSHNAUDI

That Guy
Forum Member
Dec 12, 2000
10,298
392
83
49
Seguin, TX
www.schwartz-associates.com
:00x32

Oh dang, I am thinking it's a good thing I am not an umpire.

it's just a game played and umpired by humans

I am sure you did the right thing Josh :0008

Thanks man - I'm not losing any sleep over that one but I'm always trying to learn. I've called for 21 years and am always amazed when something happens that I've never seen or come across.

I'll be wrapped up for the summer shortly, around mid July - I still have your phone # and email. I'll hit you up and we'll go grab a few cold ones.

Take care
 
Bet on MyBookie
Top